Revival #1 (December – 2012 – Image)


Revival #1

I went into Revival blind.  The only thing that I knew about the comic was that it is “A Rural Noir,” and that the covers are amazing.  So when I saw the “Image Firsts” of Revival #1 for a buck, and realized that my local comic book shop had most of the back issues of the title, I decided that it was worth a shot.  Boy am I glad that I took a chance on the title, because as far as first issues go, this one is amazing.

The world that Revival is set in is an amazing idea.  In a small town of Wausau, Wisconsin something particularly strange has happened.  The dead have come back to life.  But these revivers as the locals call them, aren’t what you would expect.  They aren’t mindless zombies lusting after brains, they are aware of who they are.  They have memories and families and they are a problem big enough in the town that the police have set up a special task force to figure out what is going on.  A task force that Dana Cypress is to be a part of, just as her father the sheriff of the city asked her to be.  The tension between Officer Dana and her father is palpable, and gets even more intense with the introduction of Dana’s sister Martha into the mix.

The basic premise of family tension, laid over the mystery of what is going on with the revivers is a perfect set up for the first cast that Dana is sent on as part of the R.C.A.T. (Revitalized Citizen Arbitration Team).  With her sister Martha in tow she heads out to a local farm to deal with a problem that has arisen with one of the revivers.  The situation gets beyond messy.  Frankly the reveal in this is so good (and two fold), that I don’t want to spoil it, but I will let you know that the revivers are something very strange in that their bodies heal, and fast.

Tim Seely has a genius tale on his hands just in this first issue, and I’m beyond excited to not only see where it goes, but to catch up with the title.  The mystery of how and why the revivers exist feels like it is going to be a great exploration.  While the added level of rocky family dynamics is something that I love.  Add to that Mike Norton’s intense and vivid style and you have what is shaping up to be a seriously solid title.

This is the first Image book I have picked up since the mid-nintey’s and it makes me want to hunt down some of the old titles that I used to love (like Deathblow), and it makes me want to look into their line up to see if there are other horror gems lurking in there.  More importantly it makes me want to sit down and read the rest of the issues of Revival that are already out (and I have a few of them hanging out already).  I’m really glad I saw this “Image First” printing of Revival, this is going to be good!  Best buck I’ve spent in a while.

Next Time:  Darkhold #2

One thought on “Revival #1 (December – 2012 – Image)

  1. Pingback: Rise of the Midnight Sons (TPB – 2000 – Marvel) | Haunt of Horror Comics

Leave a Reply

